<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Earth: Mostly Harmless &#187; akismet</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.earthmostlyharmless.net/category/akismet/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.earthmostlyharmless.net</link>
	<description>If blogs could talk, this one would say "crustacean".</description>
	<pubDate>Mon, 28 Jul 2008 21:33:33 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6</generator>
	<language>en</language>
			<item>
		<title>Hostmonster Are Spammers</title>
		<link>http://www.earthmostlyharmless.net/2006/09/19/hostmonster-are-spammers/</link>
		<comments>http://www.earthmostlyharmless.net/2006/09/19/hostmonster-are-spammers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 19 Sep 2006 11:28:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>G W</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[akismet]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[site news]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[technology]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[wordpress]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[comment]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[comments]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[hosting]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[hostmonster]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[spam]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.earthmostlyharmless.net/?p=205</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I was going to move this site to HostMonster, as I noted in an earlier post.
However, I picked up a comment on this blog which Akismet (correctly) identified as spam:
HostMonster &#124; admin@hostmonsterwebhostingreview.com  &#124; http://www.hostmonsterwebhostingreview.com/ &#124; IP: 68.3.51.196
Hostmonster is a really nice choice of a host, feel free to drop by and tell our readers [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I was going to move this site to HostMonster, as I <a href="http://www.earthmostlyharmless.net/?p=201">noted</a> in an earlier post.</p>
<p>However, I picked up a comment on this blog which Akismet (correctly) identified as spam:</p>
<blockquote><p><strong>HostMonster</strong> | admin@hostmonsterwebhostingreview.com  | http://www.hostmonsterwebhostingreview.com/ | IP: <a href="http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=68.3.51.196">68.3.51.196</a></p>
<p>Hostmonster is a really nice choice of a host, feel free to drop by and tell our readers about your experience.
</p>
</blockquote>
<p>I&#8217;ve removed the links, but the email address and the website address linked to hostmonsterwebhostingreview.com, which, unsurprisingly, gives hostmonster a 100% positive rating, and opens with the stunningly unbiased remark:</p>
<blockquote><p>We have tested the service and know the owners of HostMonster. They are one of the truely great companies that we have had the pleasure of dealing with.</p></blockquote>
<p>Sorry, but I don&#8217;t support spammers. If this wasn&#8217;t done by someone acting on behalf of HostMonster, then I apologise - but why would anyone go to the trouble of registering a domain like that if it weren&#8217;t for some commercial benefit?</p>
<p>Here&#8217;s the WHOIS output for that domain:</p>
<blockquote><pre>Registrant:
   Domains by Proxy, Inc.
   DomainsByProxy.com
   15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
   Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
   United States

   Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
   Domain Name: HOSTMONSTERWEBHOSTINGREVIEW.COM
      Created on: 31-Aug-06
      Expires on: 31-Aug-07
      Last Updated on: 31-Aug-06

   Administrative Contact:
      Private, Registration  HOSTMONSTERWEBHOSTINGREVIEW.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
      Domains by Proxy, Inc.
      DomainsByProxy.com
      15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
      Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
      United States
      (480) 624-2599      Fax -- (480) 624-2599

   Technical Contact:
      Private, Registration  HOSTMONSTERWEBHOSTINGREVIEW.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
      Domains by Proxy, Inc.
      DomainsByProxy.com
      15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
      Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
      United States
      (480) 624-2599      Fax -- (480) 624-2599

   Domain servers in listed order:
      NS97.HOSTGATOR.COM
      NS98.HOSTGATOR.COM</pre>
</blockquote>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.earthmostlyharmless.net/2006/09/19/hostmonster-are-spammers/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
